• A  A  A  A  
Email: info@afub-uafa.org
Donate Now

AFUB past Presidents

The African Union of the Blind (AFUB) is a continental non-governmental organisation (NGO) of national organisations/ associations of and for blind and partially sighted people in Africa;  established in October 1987, in Tunis, Tunisia, under the auspices of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) now African Union (AU).

The General Assembly is the sovereign body of the Union. The General Assembly shall elect the president of the Union during its ordinary or extra ordinary sessions. Ordinary sessions are held once every four years. At its constituent Assembly in 1987, AFUB elected its first president. Below are AFUB’s past presidents since 1987.

Mr.Ismaila Konate (Mali)

AFUB President 1987 – 1992

Dr. Imed Eddine Chaker

Dr.Imed Eddine Chaker (Tunisia)

AFUB President 1993 – 2000

Mr. Paul Tezanou (Cameroon)

 AFUB President 2000 Р2008

Mohamed Ezzaoui


Mr. Mohamed Ezzaoui (Morocco)

AFUB President 2008 – 2012

Jace Nair


Mr. Jace Nair (South Africa)

AFUB President 2012 – 2016








Like us on Facebook

Twitter Live Feeds