• A  A  A  A  
Email: info@afub-uafa.org
Donate Now


The African Union of the Blind, AFUB’s work cuts across the whole of the African continent. Currently we have national organisations of and for the blind and partially sighted persons from 53 African countries and we run programs in all these countries indiscriminately. The membership is currently organised into five regions.

Map of Africa

Central Africa with 10 countries   

Burundi, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic,  Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, and Sao Tome & Principe

East Africa with 12 countries

Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda    

North Africa with 6 countries

Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia

Southern Africa with 10 countries

Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe   

West Africa with 15 countries

Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo

Each region has a regional assembly that meets at least six months before the union’s general assembly. Part of its agenda is to elect a regional chair who will later be a member of the AFUB board of Officers.